I 800-A

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not very good at waiting. We are at a stage in our adoption process where I cannot do anything to move us along. We send off documents… and wait. The thing we’ve been waiting on for the last two-ish months, is our I800A approval. Basically, we had to have US Immigration review our home study and other documents to make sure we are eligible to adopt from a Hague Convention country. We sent our application on 2/25, and were notified that they received it on 2/27. Shortly after that, we were given a biometric fingerprint appointment for 3/25 (I think), but we went in early and got them done on 3/17.

Our agency had said the entire process, from receipt to approval takes 2-3 months, but I had seen some folks recently get them in about 6 weeks. I have been hopeful that ours would be quick, too! Well, 6 weeks came and went. I decided to call and see if I could get an update, and the lady I spoke with said that they are very busy, and to call once a week to see if we’ve been assigned to an officer. She said once we are assigned one, it usually takes 3-5 days to get approved if there are no issues with our application. So, I started calling USCIS on Wednesdays, and have done that for the last three weeks.

Earlier today, someone in my agency’s facebook group posted that they had gotten their approval. So… I called a day earlier than planned. I just couldn’t help it. Not only did the lady who answered inform me that our case had been assigned to an officer, but she transferred me to him! He then proceeded to tell me that he APPROVED OUR FILE ON FRIDAY. Whaaaat? So, if he was not yet assigned when I called last Wednesday, and approvals take 3-5 days…. You know what? I’m not even going to question it. Thank you, God! Thank you! He said our approval was sent to us on Friday and that a copy was also sent to our agency. So, if you’re looking at dates, that means our entire process was done one week shy of the 2 -3 month timeframe that our agency gave us.

image

So, now, we email a copy to our agency (just in case it’s quicker than having them get it in the mail- especially since our social worker is leaving the country tomorrow), and they expedite it’s authentication. Once we have that, the authenticated approval, along with our 12 other authenticated documents get sent to China, and we’ll be DTC (Dossier to China)!

One step closer!! Please keep praying for things to move quickly and Smoothly. Remember to be praying for September!

image

Font: give you glory

Leave a Reply

