First Friday Funding Figures – Update #5, February 2015

The greatest thing about having had some posts stored up for y’all, to read after we got PA, is that I’ve been so ridiculously crazy busy lately, but could still “talk” to you. It’s pretty wonderful, let me tell ya. Not that I don’t enjoy writing and updating and sharing and all that comes along with this blog. I’ve just been so exhausted. Like, falling asleep in the car on the way home from work everyday, exhausted. (Oh- in case you didn’t know, I carpool, lol. I’m not falling asleep at the wheel!) If I didn’t have those posts in my back pocket, things would have been very quiet around here.

OK, so numbers. l was updating the figures, and realized some of the line items I had were lightly off. Not sure how that happened, but I corrected them. Also, since we’ve been busy writing checks, some of the lines that had ranges for amounts have been narrowed down. It’s looking more an more like it will cost us just over $37k to bring home our little boy. In addition to that, Chris and I have been talking and praying about what things will look like after the adoption is finalized. Of course, we have no idea how long it will take to adjust to being a family of four, but we want to make sure that we take the time that we need. My employer offers three months paid parental leave, even for adoptions, so that is a huge help and blessing. In addition to that, I can take 14 weeks unpaid, and we are trying to figure out how much we need to save to make that possible for me. We also want to make sure Chris can have as much time at home as possible, to recover from jet lag, and also bond with our son. So, we’re working on those numbers and tightening our belts.

Yesterday, when talking about a last minute invitation to go see a band play this weekend, Chris said something like, “We’re allowed to have a little fun.” That just put my stomach in knots. I know we are allowed to have fun. But I want to try and plan for that fun, and not just jump up on a whim because we’ve been asked to. I just feel like what we are sacrificing for is so worth it. Of course I’d love to go see live music. And yes, with a cover charge, it’s probably only $20 or so (assuming we don’t eat or drink), but every time I think about that $20, I start adding up every penny that doesn’t go into our adoption fund and get anxious…

Maybe I need to loosen my grip… I just don’t know. I am trusting in the Lord, and trying not to be anxious about it. We will make this work somehow. Families do what they have to do- everyday and everywhere. We are no different. But, I still feel like we just need to keep doing what we can and cutting back on the things we’re used to even more than we have already. That, and look into applying for a grant!

10496056_10152326659461961_2266315599864269710_o

Anyway. On to the numbers.

unnamed

image001 (8)image002 (1) image005 (1)So, assuming our expenses are $37,500, we are at about 54% there! How awesome is that! A big boost came from a pledge from my grandparents, and we are so grateful that they are excited about us growing our family. As soon as the weather warms up, we are planning on a big yard sale or two. Our garage is filling up with items that have been donated by friends and neighbors, with more promised to us. We’re also hoping to take advantage of airline miles to help us get to China and back, to help us offset some costs and save it for my time at home.

So that’s it for the numbers portion of this post. The rest, I will show you in pictures.

Our puzzle is coming along!

Our puzzle is coming along!

Our first care package to our boy! It has a xylophone, warm hat and scarf, treats for his nannies, and a jump drive that we hope they will fill with pictures and video!

Our first care package to our boy! It has a xylophone, warm hat and scarf, treats for his nannies, and a jump drive that we hope they will fill with pictures and video!

Chris' Kickstarter campaign was funded! They reached 109% of goal!

Chris’ Kickstarter campaign was funded! They reached 109% of goal!

That’s all for now! Until next time!

1 thought on “First Friday Funding Figures – Update #5, February 2015

  1. Pingback: wemartins

Leave a comment