and Running, Running…

Ok, y’all. Here’s an update on my running progress as the days bring us closer and closer to the Chosen Marathon for Adoption in October. You may have noticed that I haven’t mentioned running in any of my recent posts, and thought I must have fallen off my training, but it is not so! But before I get to my numbers….

Running has not been what I expected. I have never cared for running. I thought it was boring. Not to mention hard. But I’m seeing it differently, now. Training has been motivating, for sure. Having a goal was what I needed to start this and keep improving. Now that the target is clear, I can keep moving towards it. 

I’ve enjoyed my mornings in the neighborhood. It’s hilly, and probably not the best place for a beginning runner to start, but it’s what I have. I’m going for cost (free!) and convenience, here, and this is the best of those. But it has other perks, too. Running in the ‘hood means I can wave to neighbors I don’t otherwise see, and see things that are happening around us. And I’ve gotten boatloads of encouragement from neighbors who see me out and about. That’s really something! It’s like a cheerleading squad just for me! Ha!

And I’ve had so much time to talk with the Lord on these runs. It’s been amazing. God is my running partner, and  I am learning to listen to Him as we run. Of course, I can pour myself out to Him on these runs, as well, and I do my fair share of that. I am really learning to cast my worries on Him, to start my day with thoughts of Him, and to be able to focus on His presence in my life. I might never give up running just because I don’t want to give up that time.

Last night I did a night run. The weather was glorious. Cool. No humidity. There were crickets and frogs filling the night air with song. And I saw several frogs on my path, too. It was cool, and there is definitely something to be said about running at night. However…. I never used to workout after 7:30 because It would affect how I slept. But yesterday, I didn’t start hitting the pavement until 8:45pm. And last night was my long run. 6 miles. I ran for an hour and fifteen minutes, and warmed up and cooled down on top of that. So, yeah… I was out late, exercising, running more mileage than I have ever done- probably in my entire life. And I ROCKED it. I don’t know if it was the coolness of the air, or just that I’d had th perfect amount of rest, but I jogged pretty much the whole 6 miles. I got a side stitch after the first 1.5miles, and walked for a block and a half, but that was the only time. But, needless to say, I did not get good sleep. I stretched and stretched, drank chamomile tea, and stared at the ceiling. I listened to my hubby breathing (And snoring). THe dog, too. I checked facebook, and then stared at the ceiling. I tossed and turned, sat up and stretched some more. Cracked my back. Laid on my back, side, tummy, side…. and probably found sleep at about 3AM. So, lesson learned: if you’re doing a night run, start earlier and don’t make it your long run of the week. Or longest run ever. 

So according to my TrackRunner App, here are my stats:

Yesterday I ran 6.1 miles in 1 hr, 14 mins

This week, I’ve run 3 times, totalling 13.5 miles and 2 hours and 44 minutes.

In August, so far, I have run 7 times, for a total of 28.2 miles and for 5 hours and 59 minutes.

And since I started tracking, I’ve run 12 times, totalling 43.5 miles in 9 hours and 22 minutes.

Even though I don’t feel like it yet, I think I can say I’m a runner. 🙂 Yes, there have been times when I’ve walked as much as I’ve run. But, I think I’ve gotten to the point where I push through that first bit of exhaustion, and then I can just… keep going. And it’s AMAZING!

So, future child of mine, whoever you are, see how you are already changing me? I am learning to love something I onced loathed, all because I am running for you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

