Holy Wow, You Guys!

This morning, I was enrolling Chris and I in some education courses we’re required to take for our adoption. And of course, it was something we had to pay for. It wasn’t a crazy amount, but we had just done our monthly budget yesterday evening, and this wasn’t accounted for. We had just paid $300 on Monday towards this process, to boot. Chris said we might have to hold off until next month… and I promised we could come up with the money before August. Today is only the first of the month, so I told him I’d eat crackers for the next 31 days, and forgo that new swimsuit I was about to get. I pretty much begged him not to stretch just this little bit out even further. Chris agreed that we could pay for the course and that we’d account for it somehow.

I had no doubt that this process would be costly, but I didn’t anticipate that you’d have to pay for this and pay for that so early in the process. I feel now, that this will be an ongoing thing. But we’ll manage. I know the Lord will provide. None the less, I decided to post our GoFundMe Fundraising page on our Facebook timelines, just to see if we could garner any early support. And boy, did we!

I posted that link about 5 hours ago, in the middle of most people’s workday. I figured a few people would see it, and if we were lucky, we’d get a donation or two in the next couple of days. Within minutes of me posting it, a friend shared the post on her own timeline and encouraged her friends to contribute. She followed that up with a donation. Twice more that happened. And each time someone shared it, there were comments from other people who may not have ever seen it on my own timeline, but because it was shared, we have the support of others. All kinds of support. Monetary, of course, but also many words of encouragement (from strangers, even!) and offered up prayer. It’s been so wonderful.

I have seen comments from people saying we are inspiring, and selfless. Which really caught me off guard… Inspiring? Selfless? ….Us…..? If anything, I have a selfish desire to hurry up the process and grow my family! LOL. I don’t ever really think about how we’re being selfless. It’s what we’ve always wanted, so I guess it’s tattooed on our hearts, now. It’s not that it’s the right thing to do- it’s the right thing for us to do. But thank you for your kind words. I am humbled to think we are inspiring anybody… and hopeful that maybe we are inspiring somebody to action.

The first person to make a donation today was someone from a past life. I see her and keep up with her on Facebook, but we haven’t seen each other in 10 years. And she didn’t hesitate to open her heart (and her pocketbook) to help our family. And that has been the case with most of the donations we’ve received. They have come from people whose voices I haven’t heard in years, yet they want to be a part of our story. It’s beautiful. I didn’t imagine that the Lord would be bringing all of these people together for us. And with each donation, words of encouragement, and spurred conversations. We’ve been getting notes and comments and prayer from every direction. I’ve loved reading them, and have shed more than a couple of tears out of pure gratitude and awe. You guys are AWESOME.

One person that reached out to me is someone I went to high school with. I love how Facebook allows me to stay connected, even if we don’t stay in touch. Neither one of us live anywhere near where we went to school, but we have been able to watch each others’ lives and encourage each other here and there along the way. She recently started her own Jamberry business, and I’ve been happy to see her doing well with that. She reached out to me and said that she thinks it’s wonderful that we’re adopting, and that adoption has been on her heart, too. She also wanted to help support us, and offered to host an online Jamberry Party, of which 20% of the profits will go towards our adoption fund! How awesome is that?! She gets a little business, we all get to have fun, and a portion goes towards bringing our waiting child home. Talk about a Win-Win! I had been holding out on getting girly and trying Jamberry, but now I have no excuse! I’m excited to try some nail wraps, but also looking forward to the online party with friends! If you’d like to join, the live event will be Thursday, July 10, at 8PM eastern, but the party will be open for shopping 5 days before. Come get girly with us! Or if you aren’t into fancy DIY nails, but know someone who is (or might be), send them our way so they can get in on the fun and help out our cause, too. You can RSVP to the event and check out what Jamberry is all about here.

So, yeah. Today’s been really uplifting. And a whirlwind of emotions for me. I am happily anticipating continuing this journey with all of these wonderful people who support us. It’s crazy to know that this is just the beginning, too. It’s hard to imagine it getting any better than this. But as I see time and again, the Lord’s plan is waaay better than anything I could hope for.

Leave a Reply

