Does My Thumb Look Green to You?

I love springtime. I love the weather, and the bright green that is everywhere. Once I get adjusted to the pollen that comes with the renewal of all the greenery, it is hard to keep me from being outside. Spring in the Carolinas is short-lived, though. By the time my allergies ease up, the temperatures rise, and I am engulfed by the heat and humidity. This year, however, has been different. Spring is lingering, and I am so happy about that! There is always a long list of things I want to get done to the yard before the weather is too hot, and I never get them all done in time. The temps are inching their way up, but with a three-day weekend ahead, I am really hopeful that the majority of this list will get done this year- even with a toddler and our extremely busy schedules.

I missed the chance to capture the gorgeous rhododendrons, camellias, and irises that bloomed already. Next time, I’ll be sure to take some pictures. But here are some other’s in the front yard that are perky and bright. Our hostas came back in full force this year, and our crepe myrtle is finally filling out!

ImageImageImage

We never pruned back our butterfly bushes in the winter, and it was hindering their growth. So I gave them a little trim.

WP_20140519_001

before

after

after

Some of my Mother’s Day flowers are still holding strong, too! They are on their third trimming and vase change, and still beautiful reminders of how much I am loved and appreciated.

Image

And then, I had this weed garden….

ImageImage

It was intense, y’all. So, so bad. Well last week, I got to work on pulling them- at least out of the little garden space I had set aside. Those pictures above are actually after I had gotten started on the weeding already. You can see the cleared space. It didn’t take me as long as I thought, but I worked hard! There were a couple of winter lettuces still in the ground, which I washed and ate up last weekend.

ImageImage

I mixed in a few more bags of organic dirt, and planted the seeds, seedlings, and few plants that I had. I had started my seedlings inside months ago, but Austin kept getting a hold of them, and only a few are surviving. They were small and weak, and I’ll be surprised if all of them make it out in the elements. Fingers crossed! The plants that we had were given to us by a friend that he had started from seeds. Hopefully all the ones I got in the ground will make it and produce a variety of yumminess. He had given us several kinds of tomatoes and peppers, but it took a while for me to get them in the ground. Hopefully they perk up soon!

Image

In addition to my tomatoes and peppers, I put down marigold and sunflower seeds, as well as watermelon, corn, arugula, cilantro, and bean seeds. That was a week ago, and look at what I found this morning!

Image

watermelon

Image

beans

Image

corn

Image

sunflowers

What is it about seeing seed sprout up that is so exciting? I just LOVE it when that happens! What a little miracle.

Then God said, “Let the earth sprout vegetation, plants yielding seed, and fruit trees on the earth bearing fruit after their kind with seed in them”; and it was so. The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed after their kind, and trees bearing fruit with seed in them, after their kind; and God saw that it was good.  Genesis 1:11-12 NASB

One thought on “Does My Thumb Look Green to You?

  1. Pingback: Alicia and the Beanstalk | wemartins

Leave a Reply

